VegfestUK Latest News
Eco Vegan ShoesBute IslandVegan SocietyVegustoBeaniesGood HempVegfestUK Web Banner

Vote

NOMINATIONS

VegfestUK Awards 2013

Welcome to the 2013 Awards! Here are the nominations and categories


Voting runs until September 15th 2013


http://london.vegfest.co.uk/vote


As always, a big shout out to everyone who has not been nominated but deserves to be, and a big shout out to all the unseen heroes behind the scenes that have helped some of our nominees so much - true stars


Our awards are about celebrating the best of the vegan lifestyle and honouring some of those who are making big efforts to help this lifestyle become accessible to everyone on the planet. They are set up in a spirit of unity and positive energy. 
Voters are welcome to email their nominations for 2014 to info@vegfest.co.uk

 

Best Place to eat
• Mono http://www.monocafebar.com 
• Giro's Vegan Café http://warzonecollective.com 
• Vegetarian Food Studio http://www.vegetarianfoodstudio.co.uk 
• Earth Café http://www.earthcafe.co 
• Lancrigg www.lancrigg.co.uk 
• Ginger http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ginger-Vegetarian-Cafe/115190531131 
• Café Kino http://www.cafe-kino.com 
• 42Raw http://42raw.co.uk 
• VBites http://www.vbites.com 
• Forest Green Rovers FC http://www.forestgreenroversfc.com

 

Best Beauty Product
• Bohemian Chic Minerals - Eyeshadow www.bohemianchicminerals.co.uk 
• Fresh Therapies - Nail Varnish remover www.freshtherapies.com 
• Vegan Faces - Face Paints www.veganfacesuk.co.uk 
• Living Naturally - Soap Nuts www.soapnuts.co.uk 
• Jason - Coco Butter Moisturiser http://www.jasonnaturalcare.co.uk 
• Lush - Bath Bomb www.lush.co.uk 
• Mimi's Miracle - Face Polish www.mimismiracle.co.uk 
• Natural Spa Supplies - Hemp Oil Soap www.naturalspasupplies.com 
• Sukin Natural Bodycare - Night Cream http://cressuk.com 
• herbfarmacy - Replenish Face Cream http://www.herbfarmacy.co.uk

 

Best Veggie Meat product

• Marigold - Braised Tofu http://www.marigoldhealthfoods.com 
• Granose - Mock Duck www.symingtons.com 
• Redwood - Beef Pasty www.redwoodfoods.co.uk 
• Goodlife - Spicey Beanburger www.goodlife.co.uk 
• Topas Wheaty - Doner Kebab www.wheaty.de 
• Dees - Omega Burger www.dees.ie 
• Fry's - Pepper Steak Pie www.beanieshealthfoods.co.uk 
• Granovita - Original Pate http://www.granovita.co.uk 
• Aunty Jee's - Curry www.auntyjee.co.uk 
• Dragonfly - Burger http://www.dragonflyfoods.com

 

Best Dairy - Free Product

• Provamel - Rice Coconut Drink http://www.provamel.co.uk 
• Razzle Dazzle - Ice Cream www.razzledazzleices.co.uk 
• Bute Island - Sheese www.buteisland.com 
• Oatly - Chocolate Oat Drink http://www.oatly.com 
• Pudology - Strawberry Puds http://www.pudology.com 
• Good Hemp - Hemp Milk http://www.goodwebsite.co.uk 
• Koko Dairy Free - Coconut Drink http://www.kokodairyfree.com 
• Vegusto - No-Moo Piquant Cheese http://www.vegusto.co.uk 
• Bessant & Drury - Ice Cream www.bessantanddrury.com 
• Booja Booja - Stuff in a Tub http://www.boojabooja.com

 

Best Raw Product
• Raw Choc Co - Chocolate coated Mulberries http://www.therawchocolatecompany.com 
• Nakd - Snack Bar http://www.naturalbalancefoods.co.uk/nakd 
• The Living Food Kitchen - Raw Blueberry Cheesecake www.thelivingfoodkitchen.com 
• Rawsome - Raw Berry Cake http://www.rawsome.co.uk 
• Raw Health - Energy Bars http://www.rawhealth.uk.com 
• Nosh Detox - Raw Smoothie http://www.noshdetox.com 
• Pulsin' - Snack Bar www.pulsin.co.uk 
• Inspiral - Raw Ice Cream http://www.inspiralled.net/ice-cream 
• Raw Living - Be The Change Shamanic Chocolate Bar http://www.rawliving.eu 
• Mr Popple - Raw Chocolate www.mrpopples.co.uk


Best Sweets and Cakes
• Moo Free - Dairy Free chocolate easter egg www.moofreechocolates.com 
• Ms Cupcake - triple chocolate vegan cupcakes www.mscupcake.co.uk 
• Goody Good Stuff - Cola Breeze sweets http://www.goodygoodstuff.com/ 
• SweetcheeksLtd - Cupcakes www.sweetcheeksltd.co.uk 
• The Heavenly Cake Co - Double Chocolate Cake www.theheavenlycakecompany.co.uk 
• ombar - Goji Berry Chocolate bar http://www.ombar.co.uk

• Plamil - No added Sugar Chocolate flakes www.plamilfoods.co.uk 

 K + M Catering - Baklava 
• Shambhu's - Lemon and Coconut Cheesecake http://shambhus.co.uk 
• Siesta - Carob bars http://www.danddchocolates.com


Best Publication 
• Vegetarian Living www.vegetarianliving.co.uk 
• The Vegan www.vegansociety.com 
• Cook Vegetarian www.cookveg.co.uk 
• LABL http://www.ethicsandhealth.org.uk/LABL_MAGAZINE.html 
• Vegetarian Guides www.vegetarianguides.co.uk 
• The Vegan Passport www.vegansociety.com 
• The Chip Butty Vegan http://chipbuttyvegan.weebly.com 
• Outrage www.animalaid.org.uk 
• Viva! Life www.viva.org.uk/vivalife.html 
• Ethical Consumer www.ethicalconsumer.org


Best Blogger of the year
• Vegan In Brighton http://veganinbrighton.blogspot.co.uk 
• To Happy Vegans http://www.tohappyvegans.com/wordpress 
• Messy Vegetarian Cook http://www.messyvegetariancook.com 
• Essential Vegan http://essentialvegan.blogspot.co.uk 
• News for Vegans http://www.news.for-vegans.co.uk 
• Fat Gay Vegan http://fatgayvegan.com 
• Veganoo http://www.veganoo.net 
• Hasta La Vegan http://www.hastalavegan.com 
• Maple Spice http://www.maplespice.com 
• Smokin' Tofu http://smokintofu.wordpress.com

 

Best Clothes & Fashion
• Vegetarian Shoes www.vegetarian-shoes.co.uk 
• Hempish www.hempish.com 
• Boho Hemp www.bohohemp.co.uk 
• Beyond Skin www.beyondskin.co.uk 
• Freerangers www.freerangers.co.uk 
• Eco Vegan Shoes www.eco-vegan-shoes.com 
• Neon Collective www.neoncollective.com 
• VeganCross/SSOV www.vegancross.com 
• Stella McCartney www.stellamccartney.com 
• Fashion - Conscience www.fashion-conscience.com

 

Best Caterer
• Cashew Catering www.cashewcatering.co.uk 
• Titbits www.titbitscatering.co.uk 
• Spice Up Your Life
• The Hungry Gecko www.thehungrygecko.com 
• Teatime Collective www.teatimecollective.co.uk 
• Fairfoods www.fairfoods.org.uk 
• Falafest
• Wild Futures www.wildfutures.org 
• Veg Out http://www.veg-out-sussex.com 
• Something Fishy www.something-fishy.org.uk

 

Best Celebrity 
• Lily Cole - Model www.lily-cole.org 
• Russell Brand - Comedian www.russellbrand.tv 
• Johnny Marr - Musician www.johnny-marr.com 
• Bill Clinton - Ex President www.clintonfoundation.org 
• Alicia Silverstone - Actress https://twitter.com/AliciaSilv 
• Moby - Musician www.moby.com 
• Heather Mills - Skiier www.heathermills.org 
• Jamie Kilstein - Comedian http://jamiekilstein.com 
• Macka B - Musician www.mackab.com 
• Andrew O'Neill - Comedian www.andrewoneill.co.uk

 

Best City to Live in for Veggies and Vegans
• Glasgow
• Liverpool
• London
• Brighton
• Nottingham
• Birmingham
• Bristol
• Swansea
• Sheffield
• Manchester

 

Best Campaign Group 
• Sea Shepherd www.seashepherd.org 
• Veggies www.veggies.org.uk 
• Viva! www.viva.org.uk 
• League Against Cruel Sports www.league.org.uk 
• PETA www.peta.org.uk 
• Vegetarian Society/National Vegetarian Week www.vegsoc.org 
• BUAV www.buav.org 
• The Vegan Society www.vegansociety.com 
• Animal Aid www.animalaid.org.uk 
• Captive Animals Protection Society www.captiveanimals.org

 

Best individual achievement of the decade


A special award, introduced this year to celebrate VegfestUK's tenth birthday. As with any award of this kind, there are always vast amounts of people behind each nominee, and to those we salute your support for these ten individuals who have changed the face of the UK over the last decade in terms of putting the vegan lifestyle well and truly on the map. And of course there are many many more who could have been nominated, equally if not more deserving to be included. To those, again, we salute you and your efforts in helping make a decent future for generations to come. It's all about a team effort, we know that.


Karin Ridgers - Karin should get the award because not only is she Founder of VeggieVision, the internet veggie TV channel, but also runs Mad Promotions, a veggie PR company. And in between getting loads of famous veggies and vegans onto the radio, Karin gets herself on the radio countless times across the UK and is the best advert in the world for the lifestyle - super positive, bubbly, fun - awesome. Couldn't think of a better person to win.


Kerry McCarthy - vegan MP for Bristol North for nearly a decade now, Kerry has got the vegan lifestyle firmly onto the political agenda time and again, in many different guises. One day all politicians will be like Kerry. She has spearheaded so many worthwhile causes we've lost count. A top girl and well worthy of the award should she win it.


Kevin White - Kevin is a very decent fella who has built the West Midlands Vegan Festival from scratch as it enters its 6th year in 2013. Growing rapidly without losing its grass roots feel, the festival is a testament to Kevin and his team of volunteers, but it is Kevin who heads it up and takes the strain , with little or no resources but for his endless enthusiasm and skills, and therefore most worthy of the award for best vegan show for many miles around.


Fiona Oakes - Fiona is a massive icon and will probably walk away with this one. She is not only an extreme marathon runner, running across desserts and polar ice caps amongst other scenarios, she also helps run Tower Hill Stables Animal Sanctuary, in between earning a living putting out fires, which is brave enough in itself. Top top girl and got so much respect. Odds on winner


Robin & Alison Lane    Robin and Alison have been running the London Vegan Festival since the mid - nineties, and were the forerunners to the abundance of vegan and veggie events that are around today. For many years the only event of its kind, The London Vegan Festival has flown the flag for the UK vegan community spanning several decades and Robin and Alison have worked incredibly hard to keep the festival alive, along with other events of a similar nature, including a vegan summer fete in 2012 in London.


Pat and Lisa Drummy  Pat and Lisa are father and daughter so count as one here - they are also known as Beanie's Health Foods, and between them they have managed to get the Fry's vegan brand of veggie burgers and meat alternatives into schools, prisons, hospitals, universities, pubs, cafes and restaurants across the UK, as well as shops, meaning large amounts of people able to access decent vegan options in institutions often for the first time. They have also been enormous supporters of various vegan and veggie events, and their massive commitment to the vegan cause has been truly outstanding over the last decade. Lovely family and worthy recipients of anyone's vote. We hope they win


Jasmijn De Boo  Jasmijn is a delightful individual who has highly achieved over the last decade, first by introducing and setting up political party Animals Count, and now by heading up The Vegan Society as CEO for the last couple of years, bringing an air of grace, unity and tranquillity to the once seething hotpot of conflict that was the Society a few years ago. Jasmijn has recently appeared in the centre pages of The Sun talking up the benefits of the vegan lifestyle and is tipped to see many more suchlike appearances over the coming months in the national media


 Sir Paul McCartney    Sir Paul.....well, you know....what can you say except no awards would be right without Sir Paul nominated for something. For he is the only person with real wealth and power and influence who has truly stuck his neck out for the vegan and veggie lifestyle consistently over the last decade that we can really think of. From appearances on National prime time TV explaining the effects of Livestock farming on the environment, to launching Meat Free Mondays and really making an impact on people who have never responded before to the veggie lifestyle, whilst still supporting a number of charities and projects, Sir Paul has made more difference than all of us out together really.


Tim Barford    He continues to head up VegfestUK, now with events in Brighton, Bristol and London, having completed a decade of organising the World's biggest vegan events, pretty much single handed, although his support team is massive and dedicated. He also runs Yaoh, winner of many vegan awards for their outstanding bodycare and hemp food products. Should Tim win, then comedian and host Dave Spikey, and presenter of these awards, will have an absolute field day, and Tim will be duly humiliated in front of thousands by an ace comedian ripping into him, which is about right for having the cheek to put himself up for an award in the first place.


 Daniel Strettle    Daniel Strettle has been running vegan camp for not one, not two, not three but now a time spanning 4 decades, which really is no mean feat in this day and age. Vegan Camp has seen families and individuals camp together every year in the summer since 1982 or something like that, each one organised by Daniel we think, which a remarkable achievement. It's easier these days but for many years being vegan and especially having a family growing up vegan has really appreciated the support team that Vegan Camp has provided, not to mention many good times in simple surroundings, at one with nature. Top. Well done that man.

 

Most influential Food Scandal


There won't be anyone coming up to get this award - but let's face it, these ten food scandals have probably turned more people veggie and vegan than the rest of us put together. Which one do you think has had the biggest effect?


• Mad Cow Disease 1986 
• Salmonella Eggs 1988
• Bird Flu 2005
• Foot & Mouth Disease 2001
• Live Calves Export 1994
• Horseburgers 2013 
• Swine Flu 2009
• Processed meat Government health warning 2011
• Processed meat 'early death' link 2013
• German Dioxin Scandal (poultry and eggs) 2011